Uncategorized

Moving the books around.

Sarah Todd Taylor

Tonight I spent a very happy couple of hours in a bookshop. After hours.

There is something rather special about being in a bookshop when it’s closed that I can’t quite put my finger on. This evening I was there for a poetry reading (Katherine Stansfield’s excellent Playing House, out today), so there was wine and good conversation and a chance to browse through the stacks.

While I was there, I snuck into the children’s section, with a very particular mission in mind.

You see, tomorrow, Arthur and Me hits the shelves and there was one thing I needed to do.

I needed to make a little space in the T section.

Years ago, when I was a teenager, my Dad caught me moving the books around in a bookshop, moving the ones in the T section around so that there was a book shaped gap on the shelves. ‘What…

View original post 130 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

